The Sans of Hollywood (Part 2)

THIS.

Here are the rest that resonated with me:

“It’s unconscionable to breed, with the number of children who are starving to death in impoverished countries….The fact is that I have chosen not to have children because I believe the children who are already here are really mine, too. I do not need to go making ‘my own’ babies when there are so many orphaned or abandoned children who need love, attention, time, and care. I have felt this way since I was at least eighteen and I had an argument about it with a childhood friend…I figured it was selfish for us to pour our resources into making our ‘own’ babies when those very resources and energy could not only help children already here, but through advocacy and service transform the world into a place where no child ever needs to be born into poverty and abuse again. My belief has not changed. It is a big part of who I am.”Ashley Judd

I don’t feel as strongly as AJ does. However, I do think if and when I finally decide to have a child (which will likely be past my natural fertility), it will be a blessing to adopt. I never really had that urging to have my baby. (In fact, the last time I fell in love and my uterus pulsated pangs of maternal love squealing desperately to have this child, I was looking at a picture of a baby sloth.) But I respect everybody who wants her own biological baby. It seems to be a natural human instinct. I’ve just never felt that way.

“My sisters have children. I love children but at this stage of my life … I was married to someone who was not cut-out to be a father. He could hardly take care of himself, let alone a child, so I changed my views, adapted accordingly, thought: ‘It’s OK not to have children.’ Now I’m just going to watch how my life unfolds and see what happens. I’m not going to be less of a person if I don’t have children. It will work out the way it is supposed to.”Dita von Teese

And I always thought the only thing we had in common was being a classy dame flowing with creativity and artistry not to mention a slamming body. You took the words right out of my mouth, von Truth!

And finally,

“I would have been a terrible mother because I’m basically a very selfish human being. Not that that has stopped most people going off and having children.”Katharine Hepburn

MEOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!!

Leave a Reply

