Inside the LDR, Inside My Head

I had been left alone absorbed in my own world when the door opened. I kept my eyes to the floor but caught a blurred glimpse of the doctor’s lab coat.

“Let’s see if you’ve dilated,” she said, “Yes, perfect! That worked out great.”

I was relieved. I didn’t know how much longer I could stay put.

“Put your chin here and I’m now going to check your retina.”

I stared into the bleary light wondering if those eyedrops could induce a baby to be born from my eye socket.

“Okay now look up, now straight ahead. Okay now left,” the doctor instructed.

As my chin uncomfortably sat on the peculiar contraption, I got a feeling this was the closest experience I would have to being in a delivery room.

Leave a Reply

