The Sans’ Burden

My friend just pointed me to this old article and I feel so vindicated!

http://www.nytimes.com/2004/01/25/opinion/25MOTR.html

(Not that my economics has improved by any cent…)

unbabyme

We gathered in the conference room to listen to HR give a presentation on the changes to the health insurance plan.

“This is a result of the Affordable Care Act. A family plan will never exceed two times  the cost of a single person’s plan.”

Hmph. I smirk and steal a glance at the guy who has three kids. Nice subsidy.

Yes, I feel like a jerk when I think like that. But still. I pay for everything on a single woman’s income (more on that shortly)–all living expenses, savings, retirement, insurance, taxes, oh did I mention taxes? No child tax credit, no dependent care credit, oh and no tax breaks for home ownership. Look at all the tax breaks you don’t get because society doesn’t care for the childless single woman.

Women still trail men in income. In fact, women outlive men, so really we should be making more…

View original post 117 more words

Leave a Reply

