Pregdar

“What are you doing here?!”

Super excited about the coincidence of running into each other, we chatted up a storm to condense our respective seven years into 90 second spiels, then switched to near future plans.

“Well, I hadn’t planned any of it,” she said of her decision to move, “but when I got pregnant, things changed.”

And that was the first time during our four minute encounter my eyes drifted below her face.

“Oh my god! You’re pregnant!!! Congratulations!!!!”

She laughed so hard. She assumed her six-month bump would be the first thing anyone would notice.

That would be anyone, but me.

When I was younger the wedding-band-scan was like an involuntary muscle. A while ago I stopped caring what people’s marital statuses were. Turns out I never even went through a phase of worrying about the Joneses in the pregnancy department, and I doubt I’ll start to care now.

Leave a Reply

